top of page
Search
  • Hunter Kendrick

I JUST ATE A LIVE GRASSHOPPER

Great week! Felt a little sick one day cause we´ve been eating at this huge open market with really yummy and really cheap food that prolly isnt the most clean haha. Still went out and worked! But when we got home I was really sick and threw up ;(

After that day though it was smooth sailing. This week I had my first hot shower! We did a division with some other Elders and stayed the night at their house. It was a really cool experience. Learned a lot about how to teach with the Spirit but also learned a lot about how much I have actually progressed. Normally I have been surrounded by really old Elders who already know the languages really well so I always thought I still have a long way to go learning the languages. But this week when I was with some other Elders who have been out for around a year I literally was translating what they said into Kriolo for a guy we were teaching because the other Elders just spoke Portuguese! Haha I actually have been growing a lot and all my work is paying off. Lots of missionaries forget about Kriolo cause its kinda hard but I believe in D&C 90:11

11 For it shall come to pass in that day, that every man shall hear the fulness of the gospel in his own tongue, and in his own language, through those who are ordained unto this power, by the administration of the Comforter, shed forth upon them for the revelation of Jesus Christ.

Haha the native langauge of the people here is KRIOLO! So I will speak to them in Kriolo! 

It also really opens them up when I cant joke around with them in their native language. I have totally seen the Gift of Tongues in my misison as I have studied both Portuguese and Kriolo and borne powerful testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ in both languages. I pray that the Lord will help me continue to grow my ability to communicate in these langauges and lift my up where I fall.

As for the title... Today we went to a lighthouse as like a missionary activity. It was really fun and beautiful but there were grasshoppers everywhere! We tried cathcing them and when one missionary succeeded he said "Elder Kendrick I´ll give you 100 escudos (basically 1 dollar equivalent) if you eat this grasshopper!"

I said "200 and its a deal"

Haha 2 other missionaries pulled out 50 escudos and after re catching another more juicier one (the other one escaped) on the count of 3 I popped it into my mouth. Haha he almost jumped but after one bit he was gone. Honestly didn´t taste that bad, kinda like a meating potato chip.

But for 200 escudos I can buy a huge plate of rice, cup of beans, some fries, and a big piece of chicken! :) So i think it was a good deal haha.

Here are some cool pictures! 





9 views0 comments
bottom of page